About the Artist

There's something about the south that can mold a man; change him. Born and raised in Charleston, South Carolina, Mel Washington knows a thing or two about change, and it bleeds through into his music. Beginning in high school, Mel enchanted crowds around South Carolina with his matured sound and honey-smooth voice. As he grew up, Washington was exposed to all new experiences, one of which landed him in Charleston-based indie rock outfit All Get Out. In June of 2007, the band began to grow rapidly. In a few short years, they had toured the country, played major festivals and sold out shows with the likes of Manchester Orchestra, La Dispute, and O'Brother, all while learning a lot about change in themselves. By May of 2012, the band and Washington decided it was time to part ways. Time on the road had taught him a lot about life and it was time to come home.

The next few months in the southern sun of Charleston gave Mel Washington just the inspiration he needed. Co-writes with friends blossomed into a concept, a sound; an album. "Houses", Washington's debut LP, was released in February 2013 under Regenerate Music Co. Recorded at Glow in The Dark Studio with Matt Goldman (Copeland, As Cities Burn, Underoath), the album proved to be Washington's step towards maturity as themes of change and belonging echo in his soulful southern melodies. 

Growing attention around the album brought a busy 2013 for Mel Washington, which concludes with the release of his second LP, this time with a holiday twist. After three years of dreaming of this record with Executive Producer, Shahriar Sedghi, and featured vocalist, Sarra Sedghi, it was time to make this dream a reality. This release is a new start for Washington: "I was really intentional about having a mature sound. I wanted to make the album sound the way Christmas sounds to me...fun and cheerful, yet somber and reflective at the same time." The album features multiple Christmas classics, including "Let It Snow" and "White Christmas", all with Washington's smooth vocal twist and beautiful harmonies from Sedghi.

1. O Holy Night (4:43)
2. White Christmas (3:54)
3. A Chorus of Hallelujahs (4:36)
4. 04 Let It Snow (2:39)
5. Santa Baby (3:36)
6. Baby, It's Cold Outside (3:4)
7. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas (2:7)


Please log in or register to comment

Log In